03/18/2008 Paper Letter

March 18, 2008

Well, I have had a really fun P-Day so far.  We went to Rodissio’s, an all you can eat meat place.  It was like 15 Reis, which is like 7 U.S. dollars.  It wasn’t bad, actually it tasted really great.  The meat sometimes came out a little on the rare side, but it was great.  I had some quail eggs and some Brazee made potato salad.  They drink their sodas in glass bottles.  It was a good time.  I even tried some grilled chicken hearts.  Well, it tastes like chicken alright!  I get my allowance next week, or the week after.  I hope to get photo printed off and on a CD by that time so I can send this to you with them.  I will also try to get some more sent to you by email.  Unfortunately, the software here is sometimes old, so sending a hundred like we can in America is often times hard to do.  But, a CD I think can hold sufficient enough.  Anyways, if it gets to you in safe order, I will be glad.  I was a little upset when I could only send you three pictures.

 We met up with our night teacher, Hermano Lewes at the place.  He is a Returned Missionary from California, almost 1 ½ years now.  He is really cool.  Anyway, we are going to mail some letters and then we have a fireside, so I will let you know about that.

 Yea, the fireside was really great.  I must say, he had tons of information.  I learned a lot about how much God really cares about us.  I am here because there are people here who only I can reach or get through to.  That makes me feel great, that through me, the spirit will be able to reach individuals because God has blessed me with something they need.  A mission definitely makes you think about what part you have in God’s plan.  Instead of thinking I am 1 out of millions of Latter-Day Saints, now I am thinking I am one of God’s children.  I am not just one person doing the same thing everyone else is doing in the church; I am one son of God who knows personally.  Heavenly Father knows exactly where he needs me because He knows exactly what someone else needs.  It’s good to know Heavenly Father has a work for me!  Mom & Dad, if you haven’t already planned to do so, please serve a mission.  It is the closest you can come to Heavenly Father.  Twenty eight days out here and I already feel Him close by.  Thanks for helping me choose this way, there is no where else I would rather be right now!  I hope this CD gets to you alright.  It is like 7 Reis.  So I will need to do it next week and use my debit card, if I don’t get my allowance again.  To ship it to you will be like 15 Reis, which is not bad at all.  Well, I guess I don’t have a ton else that happened today.

 I am sending all the grandparents a 2 Reis bill kind of to symbolize all the money they sent me for my birthday.  But it is a sweet looking bill.  I thought they might like a Brazilian dollar bill; who gets to have a Brazilian bill everyday?  If it isn’t a good idea, tell me, and I will just get them a card or something. 

 From what I understand, a P-day has tons of time for me to get all my chores done and have time to go out into the cidade (city), provided I also have a Brazilian companhero to show me around.  Plus, businesses in Brazil I hear love missionarios.  Anyway it is important to me only on P-Days so you don’t have to worry about me getting off track!  I love you all.  I am so glad I made this decision to go.  It has been an amazing month.  I have 23 more amazing ones to go.  Time flies by.  I hope this CD finds you well.  Love you.

 Elder Allred

 “Pray as if everything depends on God, then work as if everything depends on you.”

 Scriptures – Alma 56:47-48

Moroni 8:2-3

Matthew 28:19-20

Explore posts in the same categories: Letters

