Jason’s Letter 04/23/2008

Hey everyone

Well I made it alright but you should see what it takes to get the luggage from point a to b to c and finally to d. it was really fun though. I am in my new area and really like it. It is so hot though.  I am in Muribeca which is on the outskirts of Recife.  It is nice to have everything moved and in place. So I woke up on Tuesday morning about 3:30 and got all ready to go. I spent all Monday packing. We took the bags down had a quick meeting and left. We arrived 20 min later at the airport and had a good 45 min to board. We boarded the plane to Recife and it was a good 4 hour flight. We took occasional stops in Hebro em Preto (sp) and Salvador. Then, we arrived at the Recife airport. Presidente Woodruff and Sister Woodruff are so nice they welcomed us and we loaded up and went to the Recife temple where we stayed the night. It was really great we had a series of meetings and lunch at the presidente´s casa and the secretaries took us to a burger shop close by. We woke up the next morning and had a quick breakfast and then had to get everything loaded up and went to the stake center here in town. We had another meeting with president woodruff and then we received our new trainers. My trainer is Elder Riddle who is from Utah. He is really great guy. After that I said good bye to all my CTM buddies and we walked from the stake center to a bus stop with all the luggage probably about a half mile away.  We road a bus about 30 min to the outskirts of town and took another bus to the area where I am now. It was probably one of the most exciting times I have ever had, it was a little crazy getting things around, but I managed. Our apartment is great, but I have some specifics about the apartment I need to know yet. Right now I am just writing letters and enjoying p-day. My p-days will be on Wednesdays. And I will have only about 45 minutes to e-mail. I also found out that it is best to send the letters and packages to the mission office because we are only in areas for short periods of time. So the address that you have sent the package to is the one all my letters should go to I will get them probably every 4 weeks or so but it ensures that I will get anything you send to me. : ) 

I am really glad Brother Nelson wrote you and talked to you; that is really neat. I am glad we were able to communicate that way – sort of. I am sorry this is so short I am only limited to a few minutes to mail. I will teach my first lesson today and so that means I need to speak some Portuguese!! I am excited and I think it will go well. I will make sure to include that experience in my next letter or e-mail. I really like my new area; I think I will enjoy getting to know the people here and teaching to them the gospel. It feels like I have left my second home (the CTM) but I know Heavenly Father has great blessings in store for me here and that things will be great again. It doesn’t seem like it has been 2 months at all. Most of the missionaries I have talked to so far have said that it doesn’t seem like a year since they have been out. I am going to get lost in the work and I know it will be lots of fun. I will try and write more letters and everything, now that I know more about my schedule. I love you all.  Anyways I am here and I am safe!! Love you…

Elder Allred

Explore posts in the same categories: Letters

