05/28/2008 Letter

Oppa!! Tudo bem?!?!? So things are great here. First things first. Elder Bednar arrived last Friday. We cleaned the apartment spotless and it looked really good. I mean there wasn’t a spider web left. Unfortunately he didn’t come to visit.  I think plans with the travel got in the way or some miscommunication happened with the Elders.  I don’t know, but it was still the coolest thing to listen to him speak to us. Even greater is, he told us no to write anything he said down, but to write only what the spirit said to us. The spirit gave me tons to work on in my life and tons to work on in my work as a missionary. He also said not to be too hard on ourselves; if we were obedient and we worked hard and had faith and still things were not working out that it is not our fault.  It is the people’s decision to let the spirit teach. He let us also question him for an hour but it only seemed like a few minutes. Anyways we could ask about anything we wanted to as long as it was reasonable and had to do with the gospel. He as really great and had a great sense of humor.  I think it was by far the high light of my mission thus far.  I hope I can use what the spirit taught us through him to make more highlights.  Anyways I will have to write more about what he said in my next letter to you because I would be writing forever!!! So this week went well. We are trying so hard to get ready for transfers this next Wednesday.  I am not expecting a transfer but if that is what happens let the good times roll…. My language is increasingly getting better I think I am making some headway.  I just need to try it out when I have a Brazilian companion – that should be loads of fun!!! We tried inviting Edijani and Edicleneo again.  They are making progress everyday. They also help me a lot with the language as they both go to college now and are incredibly smart. Also we had to ride the bus again which was fun. I get a kick out of it every single time I ride.  When my comp asks me if I will get a black eye, I tell him I am going to earn it first!!! So lunch this week has been mostly with a member lady named Rosalia, she is really nice to provide it all the time. She is the relief society president and refuses to let us starve… she is so cool!! Also we have 3 new investigators hopefully things will go well during this transfer, I would hate to see them go. Sunday was interesting, we didn’t have lunch scheduled because of one of the members had work and good thing because my comp got sick to his stomach. We were riding the bus and he kind of vomited out the window. Nothing too serious though, he is back to his self now but it was a long few days for him. So I made Mac and cheese in the apartment with spaghetti noodles and parmesan cheese it was sort of like the real thing but not near as good. He slept until he could feel better and then we left. I guess it was the mangos we ate the day before. I will think twice before I buy mango again!  So also Monday was really slow. We had a lot of appointments fall through and it was hard to catch people at home so we made a lot of new contacts that day. We also had to drop another person. Tuesday was really good though. We made up for Monday by teaching all of our scheduled appointments. And also I invented a cool chocolate crepe thing because of lack of ingredients. So that was a lot of fun!!! It was pretty good. Today was a lot of running around. We had to go to the office and then run back to get our cameras. And we went to Guadalape’s which over looks all of Recife, and Jão Bortão which are the two cities we serve in. Jão Bortão is the zone I am in right now. It was great I took lots of pics. It sort of is a mountain and really forested. So when I find a photo shop around I will try and get those on DVD to send to you soon. There aren’t too many around here.  So also today was really fun because we got to see the ocean from far away.  It is so huge I forgot how big it really looks. It makes you feel so small. Well that is my week so far tonight we are going to Muribecca Rua and then conjunto Muribecca to teach mais pessoas… and then we have a few more days till transfer. I love you all I glad to hear things are going so well. I sent you a huge letter. It should be there in a week or so. And I will be better about writing you more letters!!! I love you all. Talk to you soon!!
Elder Allred

Explore posts in the same categories: Letters

