08/04/2008 Letter

Como esta meu familia bem cheuqe!!!

Me escruitura favorito e (My favorite scripture is) Philipines 3:14, but I have a ton now that I am studying the scriptures… it is pretty sweet!! Funny thing is I made sure to write some of the references down during my study for you guys I just felt like I should share them with you and sure enough there was a reason!! But my all time is the last one mentioned!

So things are well this week has been going very good. I think we have had a really good transfer this time around and I am looking forward to this transfer end when it all comes together and we can see how the work turned out! Anyways we baptized another person this last week, a young woman (moça) Claudiani who has lots of friends in the church. We are also teaching 2 families right now. We are going to baptize Leonardo who is the son and brother of tow really awesome members. I’ve become pretty close to the area I am serving in right now. The people here are really nice and they love missionaries. The members I mentioned are Irmá Maria and her daughter Fabia. Fabia was a convert of ours from the last transfer. She says she loves us because we are helping her family enjoy the same happiness she experiences. Although she hasn’t been to church for a while she felt it so strongly in her life. And she has started coming again. We ate lunch yesterday at her house and we taught her sister and nephew 2 lessons. We also gave her mother a blessing that was really special. I really want to help her family. They gave Elder Sampio and I their address and told me that if I come back after my mission I had to stop by but if I didn’t I had to write anyways. WE have enjoyed teaching them.

We had intrevistas na sexta-feira.. Friday.. it was a long drive to Guararunes and back but the time was worth it. The presidente talked to me for a few minutes about the work and that was all. I don’t think he needed too much time to talk to me. I never really have problems with the mission that I can’t fix with prayer. And when I do fix them I have intrevistas and don’t have any thing to complain about.. ( I just hope it stays like that!!!) I noticed a lot of the missionaries didn’t really stay long in interviews except a few.. So I am probably not alone! The thing he told me was to continue with all that I was doing. So after that we had divisions and I stayed in Gauranhuens for the night and worked with the district leader Elder Ribas!!! I was glad to get that learning experience with him. He helped me a lot with Portuguese. I was especially excited because I’ve been wanting to buy a 15 reis harmonica and people can only buy good ones in Gauruarunes and Cararu.. (notice I can’t spell the names of cities here in brazil yet!!) So I am learning how to play hymns on the harmonica.. Most missionaries here buy a small flute and play hymns but there is something about the harmonica I like.

Sunday was crazy. We got up at 6:00 and worked until 10:00 getting people to church. We probably walked about half of Arcoverede in that time and only got 3 people to church. It was quite the work out walking the hills!!! But we did our part and the lord did his, now it is focusing on getting the people to do theirs!! But that is missionary work.. I really love the mission now I just want to thank you for all the prayers I’ve received and everything they have helped so much!! I love you all I hope things are going well!! I didn’t receive my package yet but that is because the office hasn’t received any from the strike yet!! SO better luck for me next time!!! Love you all I hope things are going well!! I will be praying for you safety on the road!! Love Elder Allred

Explore posts in the same categories: Letters

