09/08/2008 Letter

 Oi meu familia bem otimo.. Como eta!! Eu estou muito bem e senti belezza..

[Hi my family and others..  How are you!!  I am very well and feel great.]

So this week has been really good but a push. We had 5 baptisms; 1 family and then a young woman. The family was great. Jeffereson choose N. Silva to baptize him and the other 4 choose me. It went well except the oldest one has a fear of being in the water and so it took us about 1 hour to get her to feel comfortable in the water. In the end though, she choose not to be baptized. It was real depressing and discouraging at the same time. But we will work with her and the bishop will have another opportunity to interview and prepare her for baptism. It went well though, they had political rallies all through town and so it was pretty much a run around trip getting them from the house to the church for their baptism. But it was still a lot of fun and I think their family will be really blessed for their choices.
I have been pondering Doctrine and Covenants Section 88 this last week. The blessings promised in that section are so great that I think if every person knew that they were a possibility, we would have no problems finding people to teach. SO many people today have no idea that those blessings are even available for them to have. I think that is in part, the fun thing about being a missionary is finding people and letting them know what is available to them in this life. I love seeing the faces some people have when they are told about these things and truly know it for themselves.  I studied the Book of Mormon, it was about the time that the Ammonites entered the land of the Nephites and called themselves the Anti-Lehi-Nephites. They lived in peace for a while until the Lamanites came and attacked them, destroying many of their fields and homes and killing many of their kin. But they didn’t fight back because of the promise that they had made with God not to take up arms against any more of their brethren. I learned a few things from this. We need to have great respect for the promises we make with God. And also, even though the Anti-Lehi-Nephites had done nothing wrong and it would have been prudent for them to protect themselves they choose not to and would have rather perished than break their covenants with God. Likewise I’ve made covenants with Heavenly Father and feel a great love for their example of courage. I would like to live my life this way. If we look at our plan here on earth, we see that it is all to return to Heavenly Father someday. So it comes to this; if it is a decision as great as losing our life or simple as choosing a path we should keep our promises in mind and act accordingly. This mission is a great example. 2 years is giving life to the work of our Savior. When I was baptized I promised to represent Jesus Christ; in so doing this mission I am keeping the baptismal covenants I made with Heavenly Father. Luke 9:24 says that if we will lose our life for Christ’s sake he will save it. I know that those ancient Nephites who died by keeping their covenants gained it again because of their love for him and keeping their covenants. Just some things I’ve been thinking about this week.

So that was pretty much the most of my week. We will be traveling to Custodio this week to teach some families there. Our president has allowed us to spend the night in the member’s home there, also we have a few service projects this week. YES!! And then hopefully 2 more baptisms.
I love you all I hope things are going well and that you all have a great week I will be praying for you this week. I hope you all have a great time for homecoming!!
Love Elder Allred

Explore posts in the same categories: Letters

