10/13/2008 Letter

Oi familia!!
So this week was good but some things happened that were difficult, it happens. We went to Caruaru on Tuesday for zone conference. I enjoyed it a lot but the only problem was that we didn’t get back until way late and so we had to do contacts and couldn’t teach. We received two contacts; both are people who wanted to learn more about the gospel. Ainelli is a young lady who is the cousin of that member who visited us here from Atlanta in July. She called her up and told her to find us, so we are teaching her and her friend now. We have a reference from a few weeks go that seems to never be home but she always comes to church. We are hoping to begin teaching her this week. We were doing our weekly activities in the church this week and the other reference came up to me and told me that she wanted to be baptized. So we will begin this week teaching here.

 

Elder N. Silva called me this morning during study and gave me a reference here of a lady who lives here. It is going to be really nice to teach. I love teaching references these are the people who are truly prepared by the lord through the members. If all the members in the world gave references out each week I believe the work for the missionaries and the wards would grow and I would be much easier to retain these members. Often times here in Arcoverde I feel like half the town are members. I am always finding new members everyday who haven’t been to church for years all because they lost interest. It is hard to take in sometimes. I think a fear I’ve developed and sort of calmed down also is teaching people who will lose interest, but I know with references it helps the work go and makes things much better for us!!!

We have a new bishop here in Arcoverde I will get to work with him at least for a little while longer. I’ve practically spent 1/4 of my mission here. Crazy huh?

Today I got my first real taste of mountain climbing Brazil style. We climbed a mountain peak here that I’ve wanted to climb since day one. I just haven’t found a comp crazy enough like me. Anyways we made it up and back. It was really good to use that skill once again while I am here. It brought back a lot of good memories and I got some good pics for you all. So things are really good.

 

I’ve been worried for you all there this week it seems every member sort of informs e when disaster strikes there. I guess the banks fell or at least that is what I was told and that people were losing their homes and everything to the banks. How is that panning out?

 

Hey so we will be going to Custodio this week and hopefully the next week too. I think it will all go really great. We will begin marking baptisms for the first of November!!! That is a great way to end a transfer. I am sort of enjoying Arcoverde while I can this might be the last I have here, but I think it will be exciting to see new places. Well I love you all I am glad you go the package and I am looking forward to getting this next one. I am praying for you all and I love you.

Love Elder Allred

p.s. just so you know my Comp is ´´training´´ me to be a senior. I am not sure what that means for next transfer but I do know that I’ve been sort of acting as senior this transfer and I am learning a lot more about magnifying ones calling. It is sort of humbling huh? Love you!!

Explore posts in the same categories: Letters

