11/03/2008 Letter

Hey Familia,

It was a great week this week. I finally was able to be a Jr. [companion] again. My comp felt confident enough to take the reins and do the job. It was really nice to do what Jr.’s do. I’ve decided being a senior [companion] is a lot of stress but it is good work to do. I’m sure it will be a lot better once I am actually authorized by the president to do it. It was a good experience.  I sort of received some hands on training to do it for when the time comes. It taught me how important it is when the Jr. helps. I had a day when my comp wanted to sort of test me. He acted like the comps that choose to do nothing but follow. It really was a hard day to go places I thought would be good and not have the input of a comp. I was taught that if I ever get a comp like that in the future I need to be patient and of course do more. It was a good few weeks to learn and I definitely won’t take it for granted whenever I get the calling. So this is my last week here in Arcoverde. Next Wednesday is the transfer and I am pretty sure I am going.
 

Mom I thought of you on your birthday. How was it?  We did a Halloween party just me, my comp and the members below us on Halloween. I taught them some of the traditions we do. So I bought a pumpkin and my comp bought a watermelon and we made jack-o- lanterns. I don’t think I will ever use a pumpkin again for Halloween only watermelon for now on. It is the only thing I can think of where you can carve it and eat it at the same time and not waste anything. My comp loves brownies so I made brownies and we ate them with the members. They loved them. We didn’t have a whole lot of time to celebrate.  We taught and returned home only to celebrate for a little bit before bed. It was a lot of fun though. I have a lot of pics!!

We are teaching some new families now, but I won’t be around probably to see them baptized.  It has been going well for them we took 2 of their sons to church yesterday. The bishop here has a great plan for the ward. I think he will really make Arcoverde much better. We actually have 366 members here in Arcoverde but only 80 of them come to church on a regular basis. This is why it is important for the members to work with new converts. I’ve learned that even after my mission there will be work to do in the wards I live in. With the ward and the missionaries working together it would make it difficult for people to fall.
  

I studied the chapter on how to find people in P.M.G. [Preach My Gospel].  One thing that I realized was stressed a lot in the chapter is references. It is much easier to teach when you find and find when you teach. The chapter says to ask anyone and everyone for references. Especially members. I love this chapter. It has taught me that even on days when there is practically no one to teach I can be doing the Lord’s work by asking for references.

Well I love you all I am really thankful for all you have done for me. If there is one thing I’ve realized it is how grateful I am to have eternal families and that I am in this one.

Megan I am always glad to hear about your chorus stuff. I’m glad it is going well for you. I am glad to hear you didn’t fall off the risers. I can’t wait to see you sing when I get back. You always had a gifted voice.

Mom I hope things are going well. I hope your birthday was extra special. I hope you enjoyed the card I sent to you. Hopefully it was readable. Next time I won’t write it is Portuguese. How is the calling coming along? I’m so proud of you. I always knew you would get that calling sometime; you have the love and creativity that the job needs.

Dad, I hope your calling keeps coming along as well as it has. You always had a special connection with the young men’s. You’ve always been able to help them out and make them feel taller. Including your family.

I’m proud of you both. I hope the work keeps going well and I will be praying for you to help with your trials. I love you both. You both always were awesome examples to me. I was reading D&C 121 the last portion and realized how much you both use it in your lives.  I love you all
Elder Allred

Explore posts in the same categories: Letters

