12/08/2008 Letter

Hey family,
Wow it feels like it has been an eternity since I’ve written to you. This last week was a really good week. We have marked 3 more people for baptism, we just need to get the other 2 to go to church. Also, we are really excited for Christmas. The members here are booking us left and right for Christmas. I’m not sure how we are working the phone call. I imagine at the church but that will be for this next week.

We live in Recife now more specifically Jenipapo and Macaxiera. If you look up the church in this region and look for the apartments appicucos, those are ours. I love it here. On Wednesday we were able to do interviews. I went in having been my 3rd interview with the president and he simply asked me to tell him what I learned from The Miracle of Forgiveness. I was able to point out my favorite chapter in the book – Chapter 8. I love this chapter because it talks about how we need to control our thoughts. It was as good conversation and I asked him if I had earned my privileges back which he said yes. I got really sick on Thursday and did a division. I was grateful for the trial because it made me realize the true love that comes from working and putting in everything. Don’t worry though, it was a cold but more of being exhausted physically. Lucky though because the ZL was exhausted because he had an asthma attack the day before. It was a good thing to have both of us as supports and also helping one another. Since then, I’ve just had a cough which has gotten better today. Friday and Saturday we talked to the baptisms and tried teaching some new investigators. Saturday was our big day to get people to church. We invited a nice man and his family to come to church. He was really excited to hear a message in his unfinished house. We accepted and he cried out in joy. He has been praying for a message from God to be shared in his home. He takes great pride in his home and his family. It was an emotional meeting for all of us. He wasn’t at church but we will see what happened. It always seems to happen to the best of the investigators that trials occur after they show faith.

I made chili for the elders, it was really good. It wasn’t as good as your chili but it was simple and they all really loved it. Today was really good. We got 2 games of Rook in and then played some soccer. I got some blisters on my foot so we relaxed and watched Narnia 2 in the church with some members. The president liberated it!! I bought it at the beginning of the transfer in Portuguese for like 2 reis. I thought it might be a good way to learn and maintain the language when I return. It was really awesome. I can’t wait to see it in English. Lol. Also, it was a little crazy but they liberated Indiana Jones 4, the mission did but I’ve decided to wait until I get home to see it with you all being that dad sort of started it with me.

We are really trying to teach a family right now. They too are going through trials. We just need to get them off the rocks and into some good soil before the sun scorches them (Parable of the sower).

I really miss all of you especially during this time but I know it is all for good and that time will be really good when I get back. I can’t wait to hear your voices on the phone. It is amazing how time flies by. I’m praying for you all and for the new job position that dad has. I really hope things are going well for all of you. The e-mails sound like you are all doing really well. I need to finish reading them all. Tyler I am really proud of you in all that you do. I think you will be a great Eagle and an excellent leader I can’t wait to see you again. Megan that is cool if you want to date a Jason. Gotta keep up tradition you know!!! : 0 But I am glad you are doing so well. I am proud of you and your decisions in life and all you are achieving in school and church. I know you will do very well in the world!! Mom and Dad I am always proud of you and your examples and your love!! I’m proud to be your son and serve this mission to help others. At times I feel down but I remember my family and things don’t seem so bad. I love you all I hope things continue to go well. I will talk to you all soon again.
Love you,
Elder Allred

Explore posts in the same categories: Letters

