02/09/2009 Letter

Hey familia
So this week was a lot of ups and downs. I was called to be senior and got a comp who is leaving the mission in a week. He will complete his 2 years on the mission. He’s been getting me comfortable to take over next week. On top of it all we opened up Jardim America. I was transferred of course and am now in my first stake. I am within 20 minutes by bus of my first area. I have seen a lot of the members from the first area and they all said my Portuguese has improved!!! The best thing to ever happen in my life happened last night. We went to sing for our president to help him feel the spirit there at the meeting. I was there and saw all the members of Muribecca. A guy about my age entered and it was Edijaci. Elder Riddle and I had taught him and his sister all the lessons and when I was transferred out he hadn’t been baptized. After a while they had decided to leave the discussions. About half way through he approached Elder Riddle and said he wanted to be baptized so they baptized him and his sister. When I saw him yesterday he had made a trip that was 20 minutes to the stake building just to hear the president speak and that was the greatest amount of joy I have ever felt. I was very grateful for that experience.
Opening up an area is really difficult but this has been fun week. I really like opening up areas. It is my first but it’s the closest I’ve been to relying only on the Lord’s help. We’ve passed the goal for 12 but our companion goal is 20. MY comp wants 5 before he goes home and we already baptized last Saturday. She was already prepared and everything. Just 4 more with him and 15 to go afterwards. He’s really teaching me how to focus in on the mentality of the work. It will be a good week of learning and working. We are going to be working a lot with the members to re-activate the less-actives as well. I hope to get new investigators while I am at it. My testimony has grown a ton these last few days as well as my ability to work. It hasn’t exactly changed anything being senior. I am still working the same way as before I guess the only thing is that it’s my fault if stuff happens. But I will definitely see how much more I can learn from these experiences.
I am glad to hear Megan got into BYUI – congratulations. I knew you could get in. I hope the ´´package´´ arrives soon before the graduation. Just remember you got a bro in Brazil who likes baseball caps and t-shirts!!!! lol…

Hey mom and dad I am glad to hear about the callings it sounds like they are going o be really busy now. It always picks up this time of year. But I am glad to hear they are going well.

So I don’t know when you were thinking about sending some things down my way but when ever you planned to send some stuff I have a few requests. I am almost out of sun block, and I need some gold bond powder. I was wondering if you could find some inexpensive rechargeable batteries also for my camera. Is there any way I can get the EFY 2008 CD from the video you made me. I was just wondering if you could send a burned copy of it. Yeah also Elder Carter thought the kilts you made were cool is there anyway to send one of mine to give to him? If it’s too much weight it’s not a problem to leave it. I just wanted to see about it. I am sorry I didn’t write last week. My comps grandma had us there until an hour before p-day ended. We got home 30 minutes late… But she is fine nothing was wrong just that she was passing through and wanted to see him. It was cool they treated me like I was there family!! I have a comp now who wants to write Meg is it cool if he does? And I think he is cool so if you want to you can he is a cool guy!!! My last one I would rather you didn’t… Elder Finley said he wrote you a letter Meg it is coming just thought you should know that. Anyways life is going good. I can’t believe I have so little time to work. It doesn’t seem possible to have a year out. I love you all I hope thing are going well. Talk to you later. eu preçiso mandar este livro para vocês antes o fim do mundo!!! te amo!!
Elder Allred!

Explore posts in the same categories: Letters

